5 days till due date

14 Apr

Today I woke up and my immediate thought was how well I felt!  I laid in bed for a good 15 minutes, trying to decide if I had been healed of my infirmity. Nose? Feeling clear and not bone dry. Throat? Clear and happy! Sinuses? (wiggling my facial muscles) Free of obstruction. Body? Refreshed; not achey. Slight discomfort in the pelvis. Ear? Feeling better than when I’m not sick! After using great momentum to throw my legs in order to exit my bed, I realized that I still had slight congestion in my sinuses, but it felt like nothing I couldn’t handle!

I went to work and accomplished very little. I am feeling like I only have two speeds: turtle speed, and snail  speed. I decided when I woke up that I was going to take my time getting ready. It was so nice to not have to shout frantically, “Hurry up!” or “Fast, fast!” or “Let’s go!” at the kids this morning. We just did our thing and I kept my blood pressure down. 

Climbing in to the backseat of the van to buckle and unbuckle the kids was a task today. I lost the pep in my step to jump easily in to the back seat. I am comforted by the fact that I do not have to buckle or unbuckle those kids any more while pregnant!

I have been mentally distracted today as well.  I have been daydreaming about what my mom and sister are doing and feeling, and imagining the next 24 hours. In my imagination, I see myself cleaning the house somewhat leisurely, all the while my mom and sister are driving westward in to the setting sun. 

I also feel absolutely exhausted today. Everything feels like a huge chore. I meant to make a to-do list while at work today, but I couldn’t even do that. It is difficult to explain. I don’t necessarily feel tired. I just feel like I can’t make my body move the way I want it to. I would much rather just crawl in to bed.

Speaking of my bed, after my kids took an eternity to eat lunch and I put them in bed for a nap, I decided to forego trying to start my afternoon with a nap, and I opted to turn on the Relaxation track from the Hypnobirthing: The Mongan Method book’s CD.  If you have read any of my previous posts on hypnobirthing, you will note that I have an electronic copy of the book, which was great to get access to the reading material, but I suspected for along time that I was missing out on a CD that was mentioned a lot in the book. I actually decided to borrow a copy of the book from the library, and I discovered that the book does come with a CD! There are only two tracks on the CD; one is a relaxation track, and the other is about welcoming baby. I actually have not listened to the second track. 

I love the relaxation track so much. There were a few times that I woke up in the middle of the night and couldn’t get back to sleep, or a few afternoons I was feeling too accelerated to sleep, and I turned on this track and felt incredibly rested and relaxed in only 20 minutes. Words are such a powerful thing!

I really only have a few things left on my to-do list, and I am trying to decide if I want to do them tonight (with the help and mental support of my darling husband), or if I want to leave them for tomorrrow. They are:

  • Vaccuum upstairs and downstairs
  • Wash kitchen linens
  • Wash pillows and backpacks on delicate cycle
  • Put away the 4 baskets of clean laundry
  • Wash kitchen floor
  • File filing cabinet junk
  • Online shop – I need to get nursing nightgowns and amber dropper bottles for my placenta tincture I am planning on making (yep, not only am I encapsulating my placenta again, I am making a tincture, too!)
  • Tidy up the storage bins which are in our downstairs living room – right now I have girl and boy newborn clothes out and washed, and I just need to make it look… nicer.
  • Make the downstairs bathroom useable (I have been using the shower to store stuff, but I just realized I’m going to have a pretty full house of people next week, so I think I need to clear it out).
  • Clean the main bathroom. Ask mom to scrub the tub, though.

Mentally, I feel ready for baby! I will actually venture to say that I want baby out now. But, I do want baby to wait until my mom and sister arrive. So, baby, please start making your appearance in the next 24-48 hours. Thursday morning at around 10am would be a perfect time to begin labor. Can you check your schedule and confirm your availability? Thanks.

Oh, and check out the picture. Is it just me, or do I look ridiculously pregnant?  And this was T-2 minutes until I crawled in to bed, so that is why my bed is a rumpled mess still.

 

Leave a Reply

