39 weeks pregnant

10 Apr

This week shall be recorded as horrible in the category of life. Both kids were (and are) sick. I’ve been serving them a smorgasbord of immune boosters and medicines. On Monday, I was feeling like I was coming down with something.  However, we all spent the whole day resting and the following day I felt fine.  Last night, Emmanuel woke up and sounded horrible coughing. I was so worried about his breathing that I brought him to our bed (it was still early; it was only 8:15pm). To make a long story short, he was attached to my boob for hours and would not sleep. I finially decided that him being in our bed was more detrimental to his health, since he wasn’t sleeping, and I returned him to his crib. He became tranquil when we got to his room and fell asleep instantly. That was at midnight. Even though he finally went to sleep at midnight, he coughed a lot during the night and cried for an instant a few times, each time sending me running to his room to check on him. After his rough night, I was amazed that he woke up at 7:Stinking-AM. Because of this stint from the evening, I have felt very close to crossing the threshold into sickness all day long. My right ear is killing me. I have a buring in my chest. Just this evening my breathing has become more difficult. I have coughed a sick cough a few times today.

I am having major deja-vu of my last few days of being pregnant with Emmanuel, and I will be so upset if I am sick during labor again.

On Tuesday and Wednesday, I realized that I had been having a ton of Braxton Hicks contractions. I’ve had intense contractions for months, but usually only a few a day. This week was the first time I had a lot in a short period of time.  The contractions were actually pretty mild, though, so I wasn’t wondering if I was in labor or not. I did, however, have a very difficult time falling asleep because I was playing out the scenario of “what if this turns in to labor tonight?” I had no idea how I would cope with going in to labor that night with extremely sick children. All I can say is thank God that I did not go in to labor! As a few days have passed, and the kids’ sickness seemed somewhat managable tonight, I feel so much more at peace about going in to labor.

In the managable pregnancy symptoms category, I have had intermittent shooting pain in my back, down below, and legs on occassion, but especially at night. Wednesday night, the night that I was stressed about the thought of going in to labor that evening, I had several hours of crazy movement and shooting pain. I realized that evening that my mind becomes a total blank when I am faced with labor, and I cannot problem solve, nor think rationally. 

I am looking forward to sleeping well tonight. I pray that my body will repair itself!

Thursday I had my 39 week appoinment (although I was still shy of 39 weeks), and I learned that my OB office officially changed their policy to not do cervical checks until 39 weeks. The medical assistant asked if I would like to be checked, and I said that since I was almost 39 weeks and didn’t expect to make it to 40 weeks, it would be nice to know if I was dilated to 4cm like last pregnancy, or if I was 0cm. I was thinking that this information would help me know how quickly to go to the hospital if I start labor. The juicy news was that I was 2.5cm dilated, 60% effaced, and baby was at a -3 station. I’m not really disappointed, but I must say I was a little surprised. This is the least amount of progress I’ve had at this point in comparing my progress to my past pregnancies. I wonder if part of it is because I have been trying to relax as much as possible. I’ve done a few squats this week, but I honestly would like to increase the amount of squats. However, if I am sick, I don’t feel like doing anything.

My due date is still 9 days away. My mom arrives in 4 days. I am anticipating that baby arrives on April 16th or 17th. That is about one week away! I am so glad it is the weekend and that the reinforcements (my mom and sister) are arriving in just a few days. I feel like I can begin to rest and not worry about baby arriving “too early.”

Just like with Emmanuel, I am loving feeling this baby’s gentle movements and having baby with me 24/7. While I have been desiring baby to stay put even past my due date, I think I am finally ready to meet baby!

I suppose I better get started with my daily log of activities. I really want to do a post about my gender suspicions and why I have made deductions about baby’s gender. Hopefully I will get to it before baby arrives!

Leave a Reply

