31 Weeks Pregnant

13 Feb

Today I was super cranky. However, it wasn’t because of how I felt due to pregnancy. I just felt that I was close to the edge of crazy and was feeling super impatient, where usually I am calmly patient. It was horrible. I think the meaning of it all is that I need a nice mommy vacation.

This past week I have been suffering madly from all sorts of little ailments that have been heightening my senses for everything due to the discomfort (so I suppose I contribute my crankiness to this, ultimately). I have had a blister/canker sore on the inside of my lip for almost 2 weeks now. Usually they go away after a day or two. This one might get a bit smaller one day and then it swells up suddenly. On top of that, I have a sore on the tip of my tongue. It reminds me of a zit, that is how annoying it is! I have had that for almost a week! Once again, I’ve had inflamed taste buds here and there, but they usually go away in half a day or so. I cannot believe this one is still on my tongue, and it has not gotten a smidgen better after all these days. It is just hanging out. On top of those two extremely aggravating annoyances, while nothing new, my lips have been peeling and cracking like crazy, so every day I deal with patches of dead skin and patches of open cuts that are so fresh that they occasionally bleed. Lastly, yesterday I came down with another sore on my thumb (thank goodness it is far away from my face… I guess). I recall grabbing something prickly the other day (like broom bristles or something), pricking myself, and now there is some foreign little object in there causing havoc. All these minor wounds have been grating on my nerves like fingernails down a chalkboard.

In the happy news column, I bought our gender-neutral baby book this week! It was one of the few things that I needed to buy, and it makes me feel like I am ready for baby to join our family.

I also have to say that I have just been so delighted with my family this pregnancy. I feel like this baby is just as much of a sibling to the kids as they are to each other. We talk about the baby moving, we talk about what we will be doing right before baby arrives, and other things that we will do after the baby arrives, both of the kids ask me if the baby is sleeping or awake and love to place their hands on my tummy, and both kids talk to the baby just like they would to each other. I very much have three children present in my life.

Even though days like today make me wonder how I will get through similar days with two big kids and a newborn, I know this little babe will fit right in with our family, and I am super excited to meet our little one!

Leave a Reply

