11 and 12 weeks pregnant

4 Oct

Phew. Let me just catch my breath for a moment. Literally, but mostly figuratively.

I cannot stress enough how glad I am that September is over. I feel like I didn’t exist in September. I felt like time froze me in a nausea ice cube. I feel like I was in another dimension. When the calendar changed to October, I felt like a spell had been broken, and I am able to slowly resume a normal life.

Just after my last update, I felt a very notable difference in my nausea level. I slowly stopped taking my medicine in the morning. I noticed that my nausea at night wasn’t quite as severe, and that I was able to eat dinner without a severely quivering stomach. That alone was a huge mental lift, but I still found it difficult to plan dinners and cook. Each day since I have felt the nausea taper off ever so slightly. At 12 weeks pregnant, I still feel nauseated in the afternoons and evenings (even with medicine), but I feel like a normal appetite shall return swiftly.

Being that this is pregnancy 4 and moving towards live birth #3, I felt that I was pretty experienced with pregnancy symptoms. I expected to pee more frequently than in past pregnancies, or to have more aches and pains because my body is more worn and older than the last pregnancies. However, I was not prepared for two strange symptoms. The first symptom was heart arrhythmias. I had quite a few episodes over the duration of a week or so, lasting anywhere from a few minutes to a few hours. It initially made me worried, but I wasn’t having any pain. I did mention it to hubby, and I said, “in case you find me dead tomorrow, I just want you to know what I am feeling in my body.” However, I learned from my midwife that the heart arrhythmias are due to a huge increase in plasma, especially in the 9th week, due to hormones. And, for this experienced pregnant lady, my hormones are stronger than ever! This information made me beam with pride over my “old” body.

My second strange symptom was night sweats for two days in a row. I woke up drenched and kept wiping the sweat off with my hands, blanket, and PJ’s without any sort of relief. I would attempt to dry an area and it was replaced immediately by a pool of sweat. I have had some mild cold sweats during severe fevers, but I never knew I could end up that soaking wet (and rather cold) from a night sweat. I eventually got up and grabbed a towel from the bathroom and dried my body two or three times before I felt like my body was coming back under control. Once I felt a bit of relief, I returned to bed with the towel in my hand and kept dabbing my body with the towel. I finally stopped sweating so profusely and drifted off to sleep with the towel in hand.

Those were the weirdest symptoms I have ever experienced, and I have recounted a comprehensive update on my nausea. The last pregnancy update for this post is quite exciting. Just a few days ago, at 11 weeks and 3 days along, I felt the baby summersault for the first time. The first time I felt it I stopped what I was doing and closed my eyes. I evaluated whether I had gas or not. I stayed very still and felt another swirl a minute later. It was so slight and flighty that I still wasn’t 100% sure if it was the baby or not, but I was feeling confident. Later that night, I felt another little swirl. Three movements in one day was quite amazing! I have felt the baby a few times since then, but not much. However, I know this is the start of many more movements to come! I hope to start feeling something daily within the next few weeks!

Leave a Reply

