8 weeks pregnant!

7 Sep

Here I am, two lunar months pregnant. It feels great to be eight weeks along! My next prenatal appointment feels like it is just around the corner, and I feel like if I know my little pumpkin is still okay at that appointment, we will have made it through the toughest times.

In spite of my happiness, I was miserable last week. I spent half the week recovering from my nasty cold, and my nausea has become a lot more intense. It is strange, because I feel like my nausea was stronger with my other two babies’ pregnancies, but this nausea feels WORSE. Or maybe it just seems more difficult because I am exhausted, running a business, and taking care of my two little ones. I am getting really exasperated with the whole food issue, as in, WHY does my family have to eat when I feel so miserable?!? And I cannot describe how frustrating it is that I can smell absolutely EVERYTHING and it all smells BAD. I think my hubby realized how sensitive my nose really is when my daughter pooped and I was on the other side of the house and I called over, “She pooped, didn’t she?” he confirmed and was amazed when I told him I could smell it. I am also frustrated by this sick feeling because I cannot do anything. It is quite debilitating. So much so that I plan on calling for a prescription tomorrow for some anti nausea medicine.

The BEST news happened at the end of the week: I have SHINGLES! Yes, my friends, I had a wild and fun week. Luckily, my shingles rash is not bothering me a lot. I’m on day 3 of the rash, and it goes from slightly itchy (I refuse to itch it though – I don’t want to make it worse!), to a mild burning sensation, to a numb feeling, to pins and needles. I know that most people who get shingles are absolutely miserable, and I am SO thankful that it is more than manageable. I only fear that it WILL get worse in the next few weeks and I won’t be able to do anything about it. However, at the moment, I am happy that I can skip ingesting antiviral medications.

From my incredible memory, I think week 8-10 is the worst for pregnancy nausea, so it looks like I am just getting started on this fun ride. I hope this next week is a little less eventful.

Leave a Reply

