7 weeks pregnant

31 Aug

Last week was rough! I started week 6 with some “car sickness.” I continued having some car sickness, and I also had a few bouts of nausea that felt like vertigo with the room spinning, a whole night spent on the toilet, and a few days ago I started with horrible morning and night sickness. I feel like I can’t get ahold of myself. This isn’t me! I just want to yell and say to myself, “What is wrong with you?” I have had difficulty functioning. On top of that, I came down with a cold a few days, so I feel miserably sick.

I had a few freak out moments due to the sickness. I had to take my inhaler since I couldn’t breath, and my heart would thump every now and then like a baby moving. I ate a cough drop and had no idea if they are okay to munch on during pregnancy. I pined for tylenol and decongestant, but I told myself I can tough it out a little longer, all the while wanting to cry from misery.

To brighten my spirits, last week I thought, “hmmm, I’m starting to look pregnant,” and I compared a “before” and “after” picture today, and… they look the same. So I must always look pregnant, even when I’m not pregnant. Nice.

I’m just having a bitter and miserable weekend, mostly thanks to me being sick. I was just sick in July. There should be a biological law against getting sick more than once in 5 weeks. Now that I think of it, I am pretty sure I have been sick 3 out of the past 5 Labor Day holidays.

On the bright side, I had my first prenatal appointment last week. The baby was measuring about 3 days small, but I saw it’s little heart beat. It definitely gave me a lot more peace!

I lift my glass of Alca-seltzer to peace and health.

Leave a Reply

