30 day shred

7 May

Today I decided to start the famous 30 Day Shred by Jillian Michael’s. I hate jumping on bandwagons, but we are going to the beach in 24 days, and while I am at a nice, normal weight (numerically), I’m a little flabbier than I would like for swimsuit season.

I also have had a workout aversion for the past, oh, 7 or 8 years. Part of it is because before then I was a work out addict. I would work out 3-4 hours a day. Since I am a recovering addict, as well as someone who has an all-or-nothing mentality, I have been on the other extreme of the pendulum. Part of me feels guilty for working out, as I had resolved to be healthy and incorporate fun physical activity, but I think it is time I just buckle down and work out hard for a few weeks. I am hoping that moves me back to a healthy medium.

Today was interesting: I had to start the workout two different times because I got interrupted by the babies. I finally gave up trying to do it during the babies’ nap time and just did it with them. It was more of a mommy-and-me workout, as I used Emmanuel as my weights on multiple occasions, and Hadassah crawled all over me when I was on the floor (and she threw a fit when I was doing ab exercises because she wanted to “ride the horsie”). I might have burned more calories than I normally would!

My goal is to make it to when we go to the beach, which isn’t quite 30 days. I took before pictures and measured my waist and hips, so hopefully I will have some results in 3 weeks!

I keep telling myself something is better than nothing. That will be my motto. Looking forward to results! I can do this!

Leave a Reply

