Toddler Smoothie

28 Apr

My poor pumpkin got a high fever on Friday. Last time Hadassah got a high fever (of 105.1 degrees) we had to be admitted to the hospital. When Hadassah’s fever read 103.2 I started getting nervous.

Hadassah is such a picky eater and with being sick, I knew she needed to stay hydrated. I prepared her a smoothie before going to bed and she downed the whole thing, so it made me feel better knowing she was cooling off and getting hydration and nutrition!

Several months ago I discovered Hadassah loves smoothies! I throw smoothies together frequently and change up the ingredients, but I thought I would post the most nutritionally packed recipe and it is still really yummy. I am able to get Hadassah to eat more fruits and veggies in one smoothie than I am able to raw in a year.

Toddler Smoothie

1/2 stalk of celery
2-3 peeled carrots (optional; use these with care and caution, and a really good blender! The smoothie might be a little chewable if you use them, but still good)
A GIANT fistful of baby spinach
2 strawberries (frozen makes it really good!)
1/4 – 1/2 of a very ripe banana
1/4 of red plum
2 cups of whole milk

Throw all ingredients in a blender. Blend on the smoothie setting until you can hear that all chunks of food are blended. Serve in a straw sippy cup!

I usually end up making a smoothie for myself because my mouth starts watering after I “taste test” Hadassah’s smoothie.

My most basic smoothie recipe just includes the banana, strawberry and spinach, because we almost always have banana and strawberries in our house. I have even thrown in cooked zucchini to a smoothie, but I’ve never thrown raw zucchini in so I cannot vouch for if it is good.

Here are my recipe tips:
Leave out blueberries… The skins are kind of weird (for Hadassah anyway) and the flavor is really strong

Don’t use blackberries, ever. The seeds are not pleasant to chew on.

I once made a smoothie in a food processor with spinach, banana, and pineapple. I’m not sure what the problem was (the ingredients or the appliance), but it tasted like vomit.

Enjoy making your own variations!

Leave a Reply

