The Waiting Room

12 Dec

Wow. Time passes so quickly with a newborn (except for in the middle of the night when the baby takes 2 hours to burp all his air out). I find that in my “spare” time, I have critical decisions to make. Do I:

1. Take a shower? (or brush my teeth, if it’s really a tough day! Ha.)
2. Drink a cup of coffee?
3. Eat a meal? (I’ve had breakfast at 2pm on multiple occasions)
4. Take a nap? (I’ve only done that twice in 15 days, believe it or not)
5. Clean?
6. Do something excessively extravagant with my time, like read a book?

Time is pretty valuable when you have an 18 month old and a newborn. And to top it all off, my mom is here doing tons of cooking, cleaning, and shopping. I do wonder how I will survive when she leaves in a few days. I regress.

I remember a day where I would get so bored when my time was spent inefficiently. A big culprit of inefficiency was waiting. Waiting at the doctor’s office. Waiting in line at Walmart. Waiting for the bus. Waiting to get to my destination while on the bus. Waiting for tardy people to arrive… I used to grumble and complain about so much waiting.

Last week I had to take Emmanuel back to the hospital to get his routine second PKU test. My mom was going to stay at home with busy Miss Hadassah while I took the baby. I almost couldn’t contain my excitement. I was going to go someplace with my fed and sleeping newborn. And what was I most hoping for? To wait for a really long time in the company of my Nook (and sleeping baby).

From what I remembered, we had to wait a bit for Hadassah’s PKU test. Not excessively long, but enough that I remember the waiting area.

I arrived to the lab and was immediately greeted by a phlebotomist. I filled out paperwork for 1 minute. I was ushered to a tiny room and took Emmanuel out of his car seat (1 minute). She pricked his foot and finished in 1 minute. And just like that we were finished. No waiting around for this girl. And now I complain.

Leave a Reply

