My Placenta Encapsulation Adventure

1 Dec

I did it.  I actually did it.  I just finished encapsulating my own placenta.  While I was picking up the final ingredients last week for the process, I didn’t do it very enthusiastically.  Nor did I think I would actually do it.  Even when I was in the hospital I was having second thoughts about encapsulating my placenta.  I mostly thought, “do I really want to do this right after having a baby?”  Then I thought of my lonely little placenta, sitting in the hospital freezer for a month, fully expecting to get picked up by me.  Upon discharge, I asked the nurse

This is my dehydrated placenta - I didn't take any pictures of the raw placenta

This is my dehydrated placenta – I didn’t take any pictures of the raw placenta

about my placenta (I actually almost did forget).  She returned shortly with our doggy bag.  I stuck the placenta in our fridge and was just dreading the whole process.  I thought once again how maybe I wouldn’t do this, but then I wondered what I would do with my nice biohazard bag.  Of course I could just throw it in the trash, but we have a horrible cat problem in our neighborhood and I knew they would get in to my placenta and eat it.  Yuck.  So I figured, if anyone is going to eat my placenta, it is me!  Not some gross cats.

I started the process yesterday.  It took awhile for me to get psyched up.  I finally broke down with a typical post partum cry, weeping about how baby Emmanuel had only had one wet diaper for the day and how he was sleeping too much.  I just cried and cried.  I knew that was a good sign to get my booty moving on fixing up my placenta.  The task at hand loomed before me and seemed so gigantic and overpowering.

Step 1, I washed my placenta.  This would have been more pleasant had it not been so cold on my hands, and if I wasn’t having back and belly pain from my uterus contracting and returning to its original size.  I can see why people hire other people to do this.  Plus, you have to take in to account the grossness factor.  I kept telling myself this was just like any other piece of meat (with a membrane attached to it – ewww!).  I spent about 20 minutes washing out my placenta.

Step 2 – I steamed my placenta.  Once again, I’m cooking up my placenta.  Gag.  I threw in ginger, lemon, and crushed dry chile peppers.  It actually was pretty off hands to steam the placenta.  I only had to flip it once.

Step 3 – Slice and place placenta on a dehydrator.  This part I was kind of okay with.  The placenta looked more like a piece of cooked meat, but the membrane was still there, and there were some marbled looking pieces which looked disgusting.  I actually threw away a fifth or so of the placenta (including most of the membrane) because I just thought it looked gross and wouldn’t dehydrate well.

My placenta pills!

My placenta pills!

I finished step 3 at around 7:30 at night.  By mid or late morning the next day, my mom had informed me that the placenta looked pretty crispy and brittle, so we turned off the dehydrator.

I left the pieces for several hours, because I wasn’t quite ready to sit down and work at what I thought would be a difficult and trying task of putting powder in capsules.

Step 4 – I stuck the pieces in the blender.  I was afraid our blender wouldn’t make it in to a fine powder.  But it did!  That was easy!!!!

Step 5 – I have a bowl of placental powder.  This looks nice!  It looks nothing like…well, what it did 24 hours ago.

Step 6 – I scooped up the powder with the capsules while listening to Christmas music.  Nothing gets you in the mood for placenta encapsulation like Christmas music!

That is all.  I got 59 pills out of my placenta, but as I mentioned above, I didn’t use quite all of my placenta.  My midwife did mention right after Emmanuel was born that I had a good sized placenta.  I think an average yield is 75 pills.

I would definitely do this again.  I am interested in seeing how I feel after taking the pills during this post partum period.  It was a lot easier than I imagined!  For reference, here is a site I used to help me prepare the placenta.

3 Responses to “My Placenta Encapsulation Adventure”

  1. Theek, the Laotian Commotion 1 December 2012 at 23:24 #

    This is awesome! I want to use my placenta but can’t afford to have it done by someone else. Now, I just gotta find a dehydrator!

    • Rachel 2 December 2012 at 17:22 #

      Good luck! I bought a giant dehydrator, which really wasn’t necessary. If I had been more prepared I would have looked for one at a second hand shop or borrowed one.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 5 days till due date | Insidemeusmens's Blog - 17 April 2015

    […] and amber dropper bottles for my placenta tincture I am planning on making (yep, not only am I encapsulating my placenta again, I am making a tincture, […]

Leave a Reply

