First and Second Time Pregnancies

3 Jun

I am a little over 14 weeks pregnant.  I am finally starting to breathe more easily (figuratively – I am not quite as worried as before).  I just got done with a large glass of milk and a chocolate cupcake.  Yum.  I finally broke down and bought a container of lactaid, since I am lactose intolerant.  In my single life, I managed my lactose intolerance pretty easily – I hated milk and just used soy or rice milk in my cereal.  When I lived in Mexico I was able to drink leche deslactosada – a milk that had the lactose removed from it¡  I was pretty happy.

Last pregnancy I downed a minimum of 3 large glasses of milk a day and thankfully I did not have many problems.  I suspect my body somehow started producing more of the enzyme or whatever that helps digest lactose.  This pregnancy I have still been craving milk (although not quite at the same level as last pregnancy) but have had more stomach upsets.  I find it interesting how there are differences with pre-pregnancy, first, and second pregnancies.   I wish I could make a chart.

First

  • Nauseated all day and night.  Could not sleep from the nausea.
  • Hips hurt in 2nd and 3rd trimester.
  • Felt movement at 19 weeks.
  • Wanted only milk, cereal, and fruit to eat.
  • I did not want any sweets whatsoever.
  • Had a belly by 20 weeks.
  • A completely low-risk, non-worrisome pregnancy, with no red flags.

Second

  • Nauseated in the afternoon and evening.  A lot lighter than last time.
  • Hips hurt in 1st trimester.
  • Can eat a wide variety of foods, but nausea hits me at any time.
  • Felt movement at 9 weeks.
  • I just ate a cupcake.
  • Had a belly by 10 weeks.
  • Somewhat scary 1st trimester, with lots of bleeding, but the baby seems to be pulling through just fine.

Similarities

  • Out of breath easily
  • Really like Gatorade.
  • Milk is yummy

So, there is a list, instead of a chart.  I am sure I will be adding other things to it later.

Leave a Reply

